Cannot save any files - driving me mad! - RealWorld forums

Log-in or register.

Cannot save any files - driving me mad!

Eriol
on February 21st 2012

Im a newbie on RW but love it so far. The only trouble is I cannot save what I create. When trying to save an animation im getting an error screen "Saving of a file failed. Please use different location". Then it saves a useless empty file with correct name&extension but no data.
I tried different folders, Run as Administrator, modifying access etc. Nothing works. I was able to save the first file I created and then it stopped working. What's going on? It's not a trial application, is it? :-D

Vlasta
on February 21st 2012

In what application? I remember recently fixing a bug related to saving. It could have slipped into some builds, let me check...

Vlasta
on February 21st 2012

Well, it seems to work fine in the latest RWPaint, it should even ask for permissions when attempting to save to a protected folder.

In older applications, you may see this message when saving to UAC protected folders, but you should be able to save to your Documents folder at any time.

Is there a problem with a specific file format or does it always fail?

Eriol
on February 22nd 2012