Disappearing icons?? - RealWorld forums

Log-in or register.

Disappearing icons??

Barry1
on April 29th 2007

Hello
I have just recently downloaded Realworld grapics icons,and have been creating icons to my desktop.I have been scanning some of my own pictures and some from the internet and adapting them to icons with Realworld,but the icons have all disappeared when I downloaded MSN and some other software.Please can anyone tell me what could be the problem or what I have done wrong.This is on a windows Visa system.I am very new to I.T if any one has any answers ,can they be in layman terms,
Thanks very much
Barry.
The Realworld Icon maker is a great utlity.

Vlasta
on April 29th 2007

It is hard to tell what might have happened. Where were the icons before they disappeared. Could you accidentally deleted them yourself?

Barry1
on April 29th 2007

Hello Vlasta
Thanks for your quick reply,They were definetly not deleted accidently.
1.We downloaded the image from the Scanner or internet.
2.Then used RealWorld icon editor and clicked new.
3.Clicked on Icon from Image
4.Clicked on image in create icon from Image box.
5.Then used Windows Visa Application icon then clicked finish.
6 used 256 x 256 smooth edge then saved and closed.
7. Right clicked on icon,pressed change icon,then browsed to desk top.found icon,then pressed o.k. Icon changed perfectly.
Then we downloaded some software and all the icons(approx 20) disappeared all at once.
Many Thanks
Barry

Vlasta
on April 29th 2007

All that you have done looks OK. I am sorry I have no idea why the icons got away. Maybe - if the icons were on desktop - are you still logged in as the same user?

LarryH
on May 6th 2007