Speeding up RealWorld Paint

Log-in or register.

Speeding up RealWorld Paint

Published by on September 24th.

With the increased focus on layer effects and non-destructive editing methods, performance of every editor becomes more and more important. Nobody wants to wait too long for an effect to be applied, especially when that effect is being repeatedly applied on every change to the image.

Next stream tomorrow

https://youtu.be/WxjNoZEgIn4

In the next stream, on Sunday 25th at the usual time - 7:00 PM CEST (Central European Summer Time), that is 1:00 PM EDT (Eastern Daylight Time) or 10:00 AM PDT (Pacific Daylight Time). I will be talking about what changes have been made to improve the performance of RealWorld Paint (and consequently RW other software), what limits the speed and what speed to expect on your system.

rsrc/curves-effect.jpg image

I will also compare the performance of RWPaint with the GIMP and Inkscape. No conclusions should be drawn from that though as it will not be a fair apples to apples comparison, because the use cases are different in each application. Despite that, it should be a fine starting point for discussing how the various architectural choices of a raster/vector image editor with layers influence the performance of the final product.

Recent comments

user icon RIDDLER registered user on September 24th

I am glad that you are updating RealWorld Paint. When you have completed updating RealWorld Paint, please can you update RealWorld Cursor Editor by adding all the missing cursor wizards.

user icon Starfruit7 registered user on September 25th

Cool update icon-image/24236-16x16x32.png image and do not forget to update RWCursorEditor with all 17 cursor roles

user icon Anonymous
I wish there were...
Vista & Win 7 icons
Select background
What about ICL files?